HOW TO: Clear Web Browser Cache

TO CLEAR YOUR WEB BROWSER CACHE, COOKIES, AND HISTORY, PLEASE FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS BELOW:

  • Each time you access a file through your web browser, the browser caches (i.e., stores) it. Thus, the browser doesn't have to newly retrieve files (including any images on the page) from the remote web site each time you click the back or forward buttons. You should periodically clear the cache to allow your browser to function more efficiently.
  • A cookie is a file created by a web browser, at the request of a website, that is stored on the your computer. These files typically store user-specific information such as selections in a form, shopping cart contents, or authentication data. Browsers will normally clear cookies that reach a certain age, but clearing them manually may solve problems with websites or your browser.
  • A browser's history is a log of sites that you visit. When you press a browser's back button, you are moving back one entry the history log. Browsers will normally clear history at regular intervals, but you may want to clear it manually for privacy.
Attached Files
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Crestron Air Media
Added on Tue, Oct 8, 2019
Using Audacity to record your voice
Added on Tue, Mar 3, 2020
Instructions to join a Zoom meeting
Added on Wed, Jun 10, 2020
eLearning with Percipio
Added on Tue, Jul 7, 2020
Getting started with Zoom
Added on Wed, Mar 18, 2020
How to have Canvas adjust dates when importing course content
Added on Wed, Sep 25, 2019
How to: Compress images in PowerPoint
Added on Wed, Feb 4, 2015
Meeting Etiquette Tips
Added on Mon, Mar 9, 2020
Camera Settings on a Mac
Added on Tue, Sep 29, 2020
How to look better and feel better on camera during meetings and classes
Added on Wed, Apr 8, 2020