How To: Forget the Wireless Network on your computer

Forgetting wireless networks allow your computer to reset some settings, such as usernames, passwords, or configurations that may allow you to reconnect again. Follow the instructions below to learn how to forget a wireless network.
  1. Select the WiFi symbol along the top menu bar and click on  Open Network Preferences  at the bottom of the drop down menu.
  2. Click on WiFi in the menu on the left and click  Advanced  located at the bottom right of the pop-up window.
  3. Select the WiFi network you want to delete, and click the minus sign as indicated in the image below. Click  OK .

You can also reconfigure which networks are connected to first by clicking and dragging the WiFi network to the top of this list.

Mac Network

  1. Click on the Wi-Fi symbol on your task bar a t the bottom of the screen.
  2. Click on the Network & Internet Settings link
  3. Once that has opened, make sure you are on the Wi-Fi tab, and then click "Manage Known Networks"
  4. From there, select the network you wish to remove, and the click "Forget"
  5. Once you have done that, you can close that window, and click on the Wi-Fi symbol on your taskbar and try signing into the nework again

If you have Windows 8.1 Update installed, which was released for free to all Windows 8.1 users as of April 8th 2014, then you have one more way of forgetting a wireless network. This method doesn't work on Windows 8.1 devices without this update.

Open PC Settings  and go to  Network .

Windows 8.1 Update, forget, wireless, network, profile

In the  Connections  section, look for Wi-Fi and the  "Manage known networks"  link. Click or tap on it.

Windows 8.1 Update, forget, wireless, network, profile

Windows 8.1 displays a list with the wireless networks for which its stores connection details.

Windows 8.1 Update, forget, wireless, network, profile

Select the network you want to forget and press  Forget .

Windows 8.1 Update, forget, wireless, network, profile

The selected network is no longer stored by Windows 8.1 and the next time you connect to it, you will have to enter its password again.

1. Open the charm bar.

  • Mouse: Move your mouse to the very top-right of the screen
  • Touchscreen: Swiping in from the right-hand side of the screen
  • Keyboard: Hold down the "Windows Key" + C at the same time



2. Select "Settings".



3. Select "Available" or "Network".



4. Right click on the network you want to remove. Select "Forget this network".

  1. Go to Start and click Control Panel.
  2. Click View network status and tasks in the Control Panel window
  3. The Network and Sharing Center window will display. Click Manage wireless networks.

  4. The Manage Wireless Networks window will appear, and you can see all the wireless network connection profiles that have been configured on this computer. Select the profile you don't use anymore, and click on Remove to delete the selected profile.

    Note: The network profiles that are located at the top of the list will have higher priority. As an example in the screenshot below, home-network will be connected by default instead of nicole-network if both networks are in connecting range. You can click on Move up or Move down to change the priority.

Attached Files
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Remote Access to a Clemson managed Windows computer from a Mac
Added on Wed, Mar 11, 2020
Deer Steward QDMA Canvas Login
Added on Tue, Jul 24, 2018
HOW TO: New Student XID Information
Added on Wed, Feb 18, 2015
How to turn your phone into a Wi-Fi hotspot
Added on Tue, Mar 24, 2020
Connecting to Clemson Guest
Added on Thu, Aug 3, 2017
What is my HR PIN?
Added on Wed, May 24, 2017
HOW TO: Reset a Visitor IDs Password
Added on Thu, Dec 4, 2014
SOC Linux Machines and Access Options
Added on Thu, Oct 5, 2017
Adding an Authorized User
Added on Thu, Jun 15, 2017
Accessing a Mac remotely using another Mac
Added on Mon, Mar 16, 2020