One year after graduation your Clemson Username will be deactivated. This means your access to most Clemson student resources will no longer be available.
WE SUGGEST YOU PREPARE FOR YOUR GRADUATION WITH THE FOLLOWING STEPS:
HERE IS INFORMATION ABOUT SOME OF YOUR CLEMSON IT RESOURCES:
Google: So you will be able to continue to use your Clemson Gmail account after you graduate for one year at this time. Due to recent storage policy changes from Google, Alumni will no longer retain access to Google Drive after graduation. Please make sure you download or migrate any data you want to keep from Google Drive.
Alumni will no longer have indefinite access to their Google Workspace accounts. On February 5, 2025 alumni Google accounts for those who graduated before May 2023 will be set to 0 GB of storage, with access limited to downloading and removing files. By May 2024, all alumni accounts will be deleted. All other graduates will lose access to their Google Workspace accounts one year after graduation.
Adobe: Both your Adobe software and the data you saved in Adobe Creative Cloud will no longer be available to you. So be sure to download the data files before they are unavailable. You can either download your files or you can transfer them to a free, personal account using Adobe’s service at https://graduation.adobe.com/.
Canvas: Canvas will no longer be available. If you have any data stored there that you would like to keep, be sure to download it. You can do that by clicking on Account, Settings and you will see Download Submissions. Then click on Create Export and New Export. This will download your submissions for all of your classes. Click here for an article on this.
Box: Your Clemson Box will no longer be available. Here are three options for the data that you own:
Microsoft OneDrive: If you don’t already have a personal Microsoft account go to https://onedrive.com and create a new account (be sure to use an email address that is different from your Clemson email address). Download the files from your Clemson OneDrive account to your computer, and then upload them to your new personal OneDrive account or to a personal Google Drive or DropBox account. Current pricing for personal accounts offer 5GB of storage for free and 100GB for $19.99 per year (pricing subject to change).
Clemson Personal Storage or U: Drive: If you stored files in your Clemson personal storage space, be sure to download them before you leave Clemson. Note that if you saved files in a lab (or other computer) under CUAPPS (Citrix), those files also went to your Clemson Personal Storage. Here are two articles on how to connect to your U: Drive. If you need to keep the files, you should copy the files to a folder on your computer.
Clemson Software: Most of your Clemson software will not be available to you after you graduate.
Microsoft Office: When your Clemson Username is deactivated, Office will no longer be available.
VPN: Once your Clemson Username is deactivated, you will no long be able to log in to the Clemson VPN.
Note that some services will stop being available to you when you are no longer on campus, and some will stop being available to you when your Clemson Username is deactivated. It is recommended that you download files and take care of your IT needs before you graduate.
If you have any questions or need assistance with any of the things mentioned in this article, please feel free to email ITHELP@clemson.edu or call the CCIT Support Center at 864-656-3494.
Article ID: 735
Created: April 30, 2019
Last Updated: July 11, 2023
Author: Laurie Sherrod
Online URL: https://hdkb.clemson.edu/phpkb/article.php?id=735